AnnieKO'Connor

JuNoWriMo Week 1

4 Comments

Wow. JuNuWriMo could not have come at a better time for me. It has been so great to have the excuse to do nothing but write for hours on end. The closers at the late-night writing coffee shop are getting to know me by name, and it’s only been since Wednesday.

My story has been festering inside of me for sometime, and I didn’t realize how much I had to say about these characters. Writing quickly is new for me, and I think it’s fantastic. I don’t fix typos; I don’t fix grammar; I don’t try to sound good or think of fancy metaphors. Those things are easier to do on a rewrite, anyway.   My characters are positively coming alive, thriving, and I absolutely must tell their stories.

My total word count for June so far has surprised me. I set a goal of 1000 words a day, and I am going to maintain that as my goal, but I have exceeded it every day. Friday was really hard. Saturday morning was really hard. But Wednesday, Thursday and Saturday night have passed with word after word falling onto the page.

Total word count for Wednesday through Saturday: 11,600. Positively unreal.

This week I’m preparing for a trip, and will be on vacation all next week. I do not expect to keep this up at all!

(This is coming from a girl who dropped out of NaNoWriMo on about day 4 last year…I’m very excited!)

4 thoughts on “JuNoWriMo Week 1

  1. It’s awesome that you’ve been able to write more than your goal! Good luck keeping it up. 🙂

  2. Ho-ly cow. You are amazing. Way to go on the progress! And good luck with more progress this week. 🙂

  3. I am so impressed and cheering! I abandoned NaNo, as well, far too early in the game.

  4. Congratulations on your progress! I love it when the word practically fall onto the page. Sooo much nicer than the alternative.

Leave a Reply

