AnnieKO'Connor

The Gospel According to Dexter: Part III

Leave a comment

My last two posts on Dexter pointed out two ways in which Dexter is a slave: He is a slave to the needs and appetite of his Dark Passenger which took hold of him when he was born in blood; And he is a slave to the Code of Harry, who taught him to manage his Dark Passenger with exacting precision.

To show how these relate to the Gospel, I will quote Paul, replacing references to sin with Dark Passenger, and references to the law with the Code. (If I were cleverer, I would rewrite the passage in the style of Dexter’s voice-overs.)

“We know that the Code is holy. But I am not. I have been sold to be a slave of the Dark Passenger. I don’t understand what I do. I don’t do what I want to do. Instead, I do what I hate to do. I do what I don’t want to do. So I agree that the Code is good. As it is, I am no longer the one who does these things. It is the Dark Passenger living in me that does them.

“I know there is nothing good in my Dark Passenger. I want to do what is good, but I can’t. I don’t do the good things I want to do. I keep on doing the evil things I don’t want to do. I do what I don’t want to do. But I am not really the one who is doing it. It is the Dark Passenger living in me.

“… Who will save me from this Dark Passenger that brings death to my body?”

—Romans 7:14-20, 24 NIrV

Leave a Reply

